Sunday, June 3, 2012

About all these Amendments.....

Careful readers will realize that, over the past ten days, your faithful blogger has posted the first ten amendments to the Constitution of the United States.  Collectively known as the "Bill of Rights," these ten were ratified and became effective as one package on December 15, 1791.  The history majors out there may remember (I didn't - had to google it) that the Constitution itself was ratified on June 21, 1788.  There have been a total of 27 amendments, with the last being ratified on May 7, 1992.  Which leads us to:

                                  Amendment XI
    The Judicial power of the United States shall not be construed to extend to any suit in law or equity, commenced or prosecuted against on of the United States by Citizens of another State, or by Citizens of Subjects of any Foreign State.

Ratified February 7, 1795

No comments:

Post a Comment